We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our site. Cookies are files stored in your browser and are used by most websites to help personalise your web experience.
By continuing to use our website without changing the settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
Incorporated by Royal Charter
For Financial Services Professionals
Members' Area

Company Awards & Prizes

The Lombard Prize

The Lombard Prize was initiated by Alan Moore CBE in the early 1990's when he was Chairman of the Lombard Association, to reward an outstanding student of the City University (now the Sir John Cass Business School) evening MBA Programme. Subsequently the Lombard Association was merged with the Bankers Club which, in turn, formed the core base for the formation of the Worshipful Company of International Bankers. When the Company was formed in 2001, it was agreed that the Company would continue to support the Prize and it was renamed the Worshipful Company of International Bankers Lombard Prize. In 2009, the Court of Assistants agreed that the Lombard Prize should be extended to include the winners of Company prizes at all of the universities which are affiliated with the Company.


Lombard Prize Winners


 Year Winner  Business School Runner-up  Business School
2015 Pearce Watson Cass Business School Kim Lewis IFS University College
2014 Sebastien Hahn London School of Economics Tashita Lala Manchester Business School
2013 Weylin Poon Durham University Business School David Farley IFS University College
2012 Natalia Lykova London Metropolitan University Anna Faeltan Cass Business School
2011 Peter Rawlings Cambridge Judge Business School Tahiru Liedong Cranfield University School of Management
2010 Edward Ellerington Newcastle Business School
2009 Oliver Tomkin Cass Business School
2008 Nasir Hussain Cass Business School
2007 Pavlina Hristova Barbarisi Cass Business School
2006 Mirza Murad Baig Cass Business School
2005 Brian Baturevich Cass Business School
2004 Olga Elg Cass Business School


Schools' Essay Competition

History of the WCIB Annual Schools Essay Competition:


Year Title  Winner
2008 Do we need banks? Raphael Gray City of London School
2009 During the recent crisis, why have governments not allowed banks to go bust? Liam Reaney Forest Hill School
2010 Letter to George Osborne, the new Chancellor of the Exchequer, with your recommendations for his priorities. Isimemen Avbulimen Haberdashers’ Aske’s Knights Academy
2011 Does the cost of going to university represent value for money? Louis Mulraney Forest Hill School
2012 Did London benefit overall by hosting the Olympic games costing over £9 billion? Ellie Chapman The Charter School
2013 Should the UK maintain its overseas aid programme in times of austerity? Kristina Terech Newham Sixth Form College
2014 Does the UK as a whole benefit from London’s pre-eminence in financial services? Fatheha Shaid St Saviour’s and St Olave’s Church of England School
2015 Open letter to the Chancellor of the Exchequer justifying your views of the most important issues facing the new government. Jessie's Chancellor of Exchequer essay Jessie Musenge The Urswick School
2016 The only way the UK economy will keep growing in the future is by embracing immigration. Discuss. Lyna Nguyen Addey and Stanhope Secondary School New Cross, Lewisham
2017 Cashless payments are now commonplace. Is this, and other developments in FinTech, fundamentally changing the provision of traditional financial services? 2017 Overall winner Olivia Lalsee St Saviour’s and St Olave’s Church of England School Southwark




More about the Company
Company & Livery History
Prior to 1999, it had not been possible to form an international company, because of the...
Structure & Activities
The affairs of the Company are managed by a Court of Assistants (“The Court”) which consists...
Additional Links
Log In