From the Master

I am delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 WCIB Schools Essay Competition.  In normal circumstances I would be able to congratulate all the winners in person and present their certificates and prizes.  It is a tribute to the students, their teachers and families, that despite almost a year of interruptions to their education we have had such a high level of entries.  I very much hope that we will be able to arrange an event in the City of London so as to meet the winners and to talk further about their vision for a brand new bank’s mission and strategy.  But in the meantime I offer them many congratulations and best wishes for their futures. 

Robert Merrett


We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 WCIB Schools Competition.

Overall winners:

First place: An Mei Rawlings from Harris Westminster Sixth form

Second place: Atef Chowdhury from London Academy of Excellence

Third place: Zayan Asad from Newham Collegiate Sixth form

Fourth place: Anton Milev from Harris Boys' Academy East Dulwich


Sixth form students from London schools and colleges were challenged to compose an essay with the following title:

“You are setting up a brand new bank. What would be your vision for the Bank’s Mission and Strategy?”

40 students from 8 schools and colleges entered essays. Teachers in each school chose a winner and runner-up at their school, with all school winners going to a judging panel of WCIB members who chose the overall winners.

We would like to thank all teachers for helping to organize and judge the competition at their school.

Well done to all students who took part.

The full list of school winners and runners-up is as follows:

Harris Boys' Academy East Dulwich

Winner: Anton Milev

Runner up: Olawatofunmi Bakre

Harris Westminster Sixth form

Winner: An Mei Rawlings

Runner up: Safeena Khan

King Solomon Academy

Winner: Tanzila Begum

La Retraite Catholic School for Girls

Winner: Leonardo Diez Suarez

Runner up: Bianca Da Cruz

London Academy of Excellence

Winner: Atef Chowdhury

Runner up: Mohammad Kha

Newham Collegiate Sixth Form Centre

Winner: Zayan Asad

Runner up: Halima Abdullahi

St Saviour's and St Olaves

Winner: Julie Bui

Runner up: Calie Hinton

Walworth Academy

Winner: Shahid Ahmadi

Runner up: Karis Akinkunle

With many thanks to Tom Slatter of The Brokerage

Share This Post:

The Clerk

Posted by the Clerk

Related Posts