University & Business Schools

WCIB Lombard Prize

The WCIB Lombard Prize

The WCIB Lombard Prize was initiated by Alan Moore CBE in the early 1990's when he was Chairman of the Lombard Association, to reward an outstanding student of the City University (now the Sir John Cass Business School) evening MBA Programme.  In 2009, the Court of Assistants agreed that the Lombard Prize should be extended to include the winners of Company prizes at all of the universities which are affiliated with the Company.  The prize is presented at the annual banquet of the Company in late February.

Winners and Runners Up 

Year Winner School Runner-up School
2018 Barrie Ingman Cass Business School David Li London Business School
2017 Barry Corbett Cass Business School Tim Machaiah Henley School of Business
2016 Temitope Alabi  Manchester Business School Alexander Bird  IFS University College
2015 Pearce Watson  Cass Business School Kim Lewis IFS University College
2014 Sebastien Hahn London School of Economics Tashita Lala Manchester Business School
2013 Weylin Poon Durham University Business School David Farley IFS University College
2012 Natalia Lykova London Metropolitan University Anna Faeltan  Cass Business School
2011 Peter Rawlings Cambridge Judge Business School  Tahiru Liedong  Cranfield University School of Management
2010 Edward Ellerington Newcastle Business School    
2009 Oliver Tomkin Cass Business School    
2008 Nasir Hussain Cass Business School    
2007 Pavlina Hristova Barbarisi Cass Business School    
2006 Mirza Murad Baig Cass Business School    
2005 Brian Baturevich Cass Business School    
2004 Olga Elg Cass Business School    

Mansion House Scholarship Scheme

The 2018/19 cohort of Mansion House Scholarship Scheme (MHSS) students appointed by Alderman Sir Charles Bowman are coming to the end of their studies in the UK.  On 22 August the Secretary of the MHSS Neill O'Connor and Nicholas Westgarth, Adviser to the Trustees, joined Catalina Perez Villagra (Chile), Subhasis Dasgupta (India) and Dario Bregante (Peru) for a farewell lunch.  We were joined by Omar Kurson (Spain) who will start a Master's degree at LSE in September 2019.

click here

WCIB Prize at Business Schools

Joshua Culmer from Christ Church Business School, Canterbury Christ Church University has won the WCIB 2019 prize for the highest single Honours Finance.  On 10th September 2019 WCIB Liveryman Stephen Clark presented Joshua with his cheque and certificate.