The Master is Angela Knight CBE

The Company is established by Royal Charter and is registered at Companies House with the number RC000821.  The governing body is the Court which consists of a Master, Senior Warden (also known as the Deputy Master), Middle and Junior Wardens and a number of Past Masters and Liverymen; the Court usually meets four times a year.  The Master is elected annually in late June or early July by the Court of Assistants at the Election Court and is normally chosen from the Wardens in order of the Wardens’ seniority.  The Wardens are elected annually by the Court of Assistants and together with the new Master take office at the Installation Court held in late September or early October.  The Court of Assistants also elects/appoints Liverymen to the Court of Assistants.

Master’s Committee

January 31 2024 by Zoom 17:30

April 16 2024: Furniture Makers’ Hall 16:30

July 2 2024: Furniture Makers’ Hall 16:30

19 September  2024: Furniture Makers’ Hall 16:30


February 6: Guildhall Committee Room 1 17:00

April 24: Guildhall Committee Room 1 17:00

July 9 : Guildhall Committee Room 1 17:00

October 8: Drapers' Hall (provisionally) 17:00

Governing Documents

The governing document of the Company is the Royal Charter, sealed by The Queen, and under it are the Ordinances granted by the Court of Aldermen of the City of London. These two documents define the role and governance of the Company. You can read them here:

Royal Charter


ESG Policy

The Court has recently adopted a policy on Environmental, Social/Societal & Governance issues as an important pillar for the next  20 years of the Company. The aim is to review all aspects of the Company's operations through the ESG lens and to report annually to members. You can read the Company's ESG policy by clicking on this link: ESG One Pager for the WCIB Final Version March 2022.pdf (


The Master and Wardens for 2023/24 are:

Master- Angela Knight CBE

Senior Warden - Nick Garnish

Middle Warden - Tim Skeet

Junior Warden - Ali Miraj

The Clerk, Carole Seawert is appointed by the Court as the Chief Executive Officer and is the only permanent officer of the Company.  The Clerk is Secretary to the Court and to Master’s Committee.

The running of the Company is delegated by the Court to the Master’s Committee, which acts as the executive committee of the Company, making policy recommendations to the Court. The Master’s Committee usually consists of the Master and Wardens, Immediate Past Master, 3 or 4 Past Masters and the 7 Chairmen of the Standing Committees.

The Company is the sole trustee of the International Bankers Charitable Trust registered with the Charity Commission for England & Wales number 1087630. Carole Seawert is also employed by the International Bankers Charitable Trust as its Secretary. 

The Company has seven standing committees chaired by Court Assistants which reflect its main activities:

Charity & Education  

Chairman: Peter Green

To provide assistance or subsidy to those falling within the charitable aims of the Company.



Chairman: Alison Griffiths

To promote the Company’s activities both internally and externally.


Chairman: Irina Ona Vilaboa CFA

To formulate ideas and put forward proposals for events to the Master’s Committee.


Chairman: Jenny Knott

To oversee the financial aspects of the Company and IBCT and to make recommendations for the management of the funds to the Master’s Committee and Court.


Chairman: Jason Van Praagh

To oversee charitable fundraising, legacy donations and other similar fundraising activities for the IBCT and the Company.


Chairman: James Nisbet

To promote the role of liverymen in the Company and their relations with other livery companies and the City.


Chairman: Liz Field

To oversee the membership process and progression of Freemen.

Associates Committee

There is one non-Standing Committee, the Associates Committee, which co-ordinates acitivites for the members of the Company under the age of 35.  The Chairman is Jago Toner.